Home > Senior Activities, Hobbies & Lifestyle > Senior Discounts At Restaurants – Are They Really Worth It?

Senior Discounts At Restaurants – Are They Really Worth It?

Not that I was necessarily happy about reaching a milestone birthday, but I was a little excited about going to a local chain restaurant and for the first time being able to take advantage of the 55 and over senior discount. Yeah! I’m over the hurdle, I thought. Let’s do it, I told my husband. Once I spoke those dreaded words to the server, “I’ll have the ‘senior citizen’ scrambled egg breakfast,” there was no stopping me. I started envisioning how much money I’d save on all kinds of stuff and I euphorically abandoned any fretting over my new age. I was however, somewhat disappointed that she didn’t ask to see my driver’s license to confirm my age, but I got over it.

Next, up, here come the eggs. That’s when I became really disappointed. The portions were so small that I would have been better off paying a couple of bucks extra to get a regular meal. My bubble had burst! In the presence of all kinds of strangers, I had mustered up all my courage, and set aside my ego to admit that, at least at this place, I was a “senior citizen.” The least they could do, I thought, was to reward me with a decent size plate of eggs and hash browns.

Restaurants and a multitude of other establishments offer up special discounts and discount days to accommodate the often times “fixed or limited” incomes of seniors. The ranges in age for being a senior at these various locations can vary anywhere from 50 and up to 65+. In my case, I was still working with not even the remote possibility of retirement in sight, so the money savings didn’t really add up to the trauma of fessing up to my age.

restaurant by *victorg6546 on deviantART

I think senior discounts are a good thing though. Some restaurants for example offer a free cup of morning coffee, two-for one-menu specials, early-bird discounts, special senior menus or a percentage off the total meal that can really add up and help people out. It is important to ask about the senior discounts because most employees are instructed not to offer in order to avoid offending customers on the “age sensitivity” issue. There are a number of websites on the Internet that will educate you on what’s available out there that could save you a bunch of green.

Lesson Learned : If you opt for the senior menu, don’t show up hungry!

800Seniors.com is a leading referral system in the Elderly Healthcare industry. We are located on 5400 Atlantis Court, Moorpark, California 93021. 800Seniors.com provides the perfect match between seniors searching for health care provisions such as Home Care, Home Health, Skilled Nursing, Hospice Care, Medical Supplies, as well as a variety of Assisted Living New York and Care Homes nationwide. Take the confusion and hassle out of the search. For more information call 1-800-768-8221, visit http://800seniors.com or fax us your details at (805)517-1623.

About The Author: Gloria Ha’o Schneider is an expert in senior citizen and baby boomer issues. Her topics revolve around Senior Living and Healthcare to provide the latest information to this demographic as well as their families and loved ones.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

